Exciting Changes Coming

Happy Friday everyone! I woke up to snow coming down this morning, which is really annoying. Seriously, spring, just get here already. I’m dying to wear flip flops again.

Anyway … I’ve been pondering going self-hosted on WordPress for awhile now, and I’ve finally decided to make the leap. I want that annoying “.wordpress.com” to go away in my URL, I want more control of my design, I want to use plug ins, and I want to take my blog to the next level. It’s terrifying, but I’m gonna give it a go.

My whole weekend is clear of any plans, so my goal is to do it over this weekend. I am truly awful at design, CSS, HTML, and anything remotely technical. I apologize in advance if anything appears glitchy on this site because of the switch. I am pretty sure I will screw something up, but fingers crossed I can handle it.

I’ve also decided to offer sponsorships as part of this change. I don’t have enough followers or experience yet to go big, but just a few spots for very cheap prices. Maybe it’ll be a flop, but I’m going with the logic that you don’t know if you don’t try. I plan to offer the entire first month free as a way to get the hang of managing sponsors without feeling bad for taking money in case I suck at it.

If anyone has any tips or advice at all for me on these changes, I would love to hear them. I need all the help I can get.

I would also like to say a great big thanks to a few special ladies who already have helped me prepare for these changes. Amberly, Charlene, Katie and Katie, I wouldn’t be making this switch without your wise words of advice and encouragement. Thank you!!!

Hopefully you all come back next week and see a brand new Notes from a Newlywed. If not, then I screwed up, got discouraged and gave up. Or, I got distracted by spring cleaning instead.

Wish me luck. Thanks all!

18 thoughts on “Exciting Changes Coming

  1. Good luck with your blog changes! We are still waiting for Spring here too… 😦

    ~Ashley @ A Cute Angle
    acutelifestyle.blogpsot.com
    *100 Books to Read in a Lifetime Giveaway ends today!*

  2. Good luck Amanda! You know I tried self-hosting my blog last year and I failed. There’s so many technical stuffs to learn. So I just went back to wordpress.com and maintained my url. 🙂 Hope you can share how you did it when you’re done. 🙂

  3. Best wishes with the transition. I just went to self-hosted and I absolutely love it! Wish I had done it long ago but it was worth it. I paid a couple people to help me because I was too scared to do it on my own. What I didn’t realize when I first began the processes is that it is possible to redirect your RSS feed subscribers and every link on your old blog to the same link on your new blog (if you are transferring the content).

  4. I started out self-hosting (crazy, I know). My tech-guru husband convinced me it was the best way to go, and I made him promise to help me out, but he’s been too busy to help much lately so I’m working on figuring it all out! It’s been a learning experience, that’s for sure 🙂 Best of luck! Can’t wait to see your final product.

Leave a Reply

