Life Changes & Taking Risks

Exactly one year ago today, I took a risk and made a big life change. At the time, I was beyond terrified about it and overanalyzed every possible scenario it might have on my future.

March 12, 2013, marks my last day at a prior job. I know leaving a job in general isn’t that big of a deal, but for me, in that job, at that time, it was huge. I was at that job for a little over four years. It was my first full-time, post-college professional job in the field I wanted to be in. I loved the work I was doing and was incredibly fulfilled and proud of what I did there. In fact, I had hoped it could have been my career for many many years to come.

But at some point, I knew it was time to go. Out of professional courtesy, I shouldn’t go into any details, and those are beside the point anyway. I had very mixed feelings about it, and a part of me was really sad to be leaving; another part was excited about new opportunities. I bit the bullet and put in my notice though, with a new job on the horizon. It. was. terrifying. It was risky. It may not have worked out! What if I regretted it?! But I made it through, and here I am now!

Hindsight is usually 20/20, and now looking back, I know I did the right thing. I’m very happy with what I’m doing now and think it’s where I was meant to be. It’s so interesting to look back at your life choices and see how everything was weaved together and all your experiences lead to what you are now. I’m thankful for every good and bad choice I’ve made.

Some say that without risk there is no reward. I think I mostly agree with that. We take chances everyday, some big and some small. I truly do believe that everything happens for a reason. Sometimes you just need to take a deep breath, close your eyes and jump feet first into life.

What risks have you taken in life?

 

13 thoughts on “Life Changes & Taking Risks

  1. I agree, leaving a job after that much time is a risk! It’s easy to get scared by the unknowns. I am glad to hear that youre in a better palce!!!

  2. congrats on taking a risk and being so happy with your outcome. One of my biggest risk was quiting a great job and moving to Chicago 5 years ago. It was a terrible choice. 9 months later I broke up with that old fiance and moved back to my hometown. But, I wouldn’t be where I am and wouldn’t have met Ryan if I hadn’t made that choice. We wouldn’t get anywhere with out risks.

    • What’s scarier than taking one risk? Taking two! Haha. Wow, that takes so much courage to be able to do that. It does suck that it didn’t work out for you, but you’re right, every experience (good or bad) shapes us into who we are today, so hooray for that!

  3. Hooray for risks!!! They are usually scary but so worth it! I think my biggest risk in the past few years was starting school again. I had no idea what I wanted to do, I didn’t know how it would fit into my work schedule because I am not a traditional student, and it was expensive! I am so glad that I did it though, even though I’m excited to be done soon 😛

  4. I could see how it would be terrifying! I’ve been at my job for over 10 years now and just the idea of making a job transition stresses me out!

    • Well that is certainly risky! I did that for college – moved away from my family and friends, and it was terrifying at first, but then ya learn to settle in. Glad all your moves worked out! That’d be awful to move somewhere and regret it!

Leave a Reply

