I want to garden

I do not have a green thumb. Two summers ago when I tried to keep a catnip plant alive, it died a gruesome death. When I was a child and my mom asked me to help her weed our family garden, I wanted to do anything but that.

But recently, something changed. I got into meal planning and cooking more. I grew more concerned with eating healthier and making better food choices. I tried new things, I bought more organic. And I feel a responsiblity to keep all of that up!

I really like the idea of being a little more self sustainable. No, I’m not gonna go all hippie farmer pioneer lady, but having some of the items I regularly buy anyway at the grocery be from my own garden sounds so good. No pesticides, no whatever else is on the stuff I buy at the store, plus hey, I’ll probably save some money.

I think having a garden is another one of those things I relate to being a grown up. I love trying new things that make me feel like a wife, and maybe possibly a mom sometime. Heck, I never once flipped over to HGTV until I was married! And I kind of love it. My husband even seems excited by the idea!

With that being said, I need some help. I have no idea what to do or where to start. Disclaimer: We still live in an apartment, so any gardening would need to be out of planters/pots/trays/tubs on our patio. I know tomatoes are easy to grow, but neither of us like them and have no interest in ever having one in our house. So that aside, what are some of the easiest plants to grow? So far I’ve heard cucumbers, leaf lettuce and peppers. I would LOVE to have some asparagus and carrots too, though word on the street is they’re harder. What are some successes you’ve had, readers? What other tips can you give? Where do I start? What do I buy at the store? How often do I water? How long will it take to have actual food?

I may fail miserably at this, but it’s something I’m really excited to try.

27 thoughts on “I want to garden

  1. I could not agree with you more! I have been wanting to get my hands on my own *windowsill* garden but so afraid I will not succeed (especially because my orchid flowers died with the first sign of winter). I have seen so many people who do this. My friend grows everything on her windowsill, mainly herbs and spices but she also has an avocado tree (took FOREVER). She grows lettuce and cucumbers also and I think carrots (but not sure). I think it is such a great idea!

  2. I’ve been trying to decide if I want a garden at some point. We always had a garden growing up, and it was a lot of work and not something I necessarily enjoyed. my parents still have a garden and they are more than willing to give up some of their goods to me every year! Endless supply of squash, berries and tomatoes 😉 Maybe I’d use some of their garden, but I don’t know if i want to commit to a whole garden of my own haha

  3. Since I still live in an apartment we too have to have a windowsill garden. We usually do things like basil, parsley, cilantro… easy herbs like that. Unfortunately I will be starting my herb garden over again this spring as we moved them outside to our patio and they got fried while we were away on vacation for a weekend. Looking forward to starting it again this spring though!

    • I did buy a chive packet, so we’ll see if that works. Thankfully though my mom sent me a ton of her own grown and fried herbs so we don’t need too many more. I’m afraid if I have too much fresh stuff it’ll go bad before I can use it. Uh oh, your plants fried after only one weekend away?!

  4. I do NOT have a green thumb. I blame our state – we don’t have enough months to practice gardening before the plants die 🙂 But, I have been able to keep a few house plants alive for over a year now, woop woop! You could start with that. Spider plants are nearly impossible to kill.

  5. I don’t have any advise because I have never been into gardening! But it’s definitely something I’ve gotten a little more interested in since buying our house! I think it would be awesome to grow a few fruits & veggies!

  6. I hear you on not having a green thumb! One the things on my 30 before 30 list is to keep a plant alive for 6 months. I think we’re going on almost 2 months now and I almost thought I killed “Ingrid Ivy” being gone too long this weekend. However, I gave her some water and overnight she perked up just fine. Having a garden that is successful, however, would be REALLY awesome! I attempted it once and got a couple of mini bell peppers and a few little tomatoes (even though I also planted strawberries, green beans, corn, etc). You’ll have to let us know how it goes!

  7. i love this idea! i have one plant that lives in water, so it hasn’t died yet, lol. i can’t wait to see what happens!

  8. I too wish I could garden! But we live rented townhouse so we can’t really go dig up the backyard….someday…My brother and his wife are vegan and they grow pretty much everything in their garden – tomatoes, squash, peppers, herbs. I’m terrible at keeping plants alive though…I somehow manage to kill potted flowers in the summer!

  9. If you have a patio, I would definitely recommend cucumbers or any vine-y vegetables! You can get trellises and put them on your patio to have even more growing space!

  10. Green beans grow on vines and are super easy to maintain. When I was in my apartment, I grew tomatoes, eggplant, cucumbers, and green beans in large pots. Strawberries are also easy to grow (if you can get to one before the birds or rabbits do!)

Leave a Reply

