The weird thing I did to feel like a grown-up

There’s a bunch of things you should do once you become a wife. I did a lot of the standard ones, but I also had a list of some bizarre things that I wanted to do to feel more like a wife and an adult and less of a cheap college kid. So finally, six years after my official cheap college kid status, I have crossed one of those off.

What is it? Buying real pajamas. No more ratty old T-shirts I got for a random volunteer project in high school or those Pink sweatpants that once were cool but now have multiple spilled cheese stains and don’t even look that good.

I also have to credit one of the cutest reality TV shows ever to encouraging this. When Bill and Jenn from The Little Couple were in the process of adopting their son, Bill decided he should also get some real pajamas so his son wouldn’t have to see dear old dad in his skivvies in the morning. Makes sense.

My mom always wore real pajamas too. Like pant and top sets from the actual sleepwear section of stores. Of course in high school I thought that was weird and wore my Soffee shorts and said ratty (albeit less so then) T-shirts.

I must admit that sometimes I don’t wear much to bed now. I’m like an old lady these days and get hot flashes at night, so I just wear a bandeau bra and underpants to stay cooler (as in temperature, not trendy!). TMI? Sorry, blog world. I’m trying to keep it real here. Then I thought about what if there’s a fire at night and I don’t have time to put on real clothes before escaping? That’d be awful!

And so to Target I went. Thankfully I went at a time when Cartwheel had some coupons for pajamas, so I grabbed several items that were also on sale for a double shopping win. It was important to get things that let my skin breathe and were super comfortable, and I’m pretty happy with what I bought. I came away with the set pictured here, a warmer bird print flannel shirt for the winter months and this super cute pink chemise (whatever that is. I call it a dress).

pajamas from target

I don’t know why, but this silly little thing is a milestone I’m pretty proud of. Wearing real pajamas is just one of the weird things that makes me feel like an adult. That and meal planning, budgeting, talking about 401ks, saving for a house and thinking about kids too, but pajamas was an easy accomplishment.

Is that weird? I feel like it is. But who cares. I have new pajamas that I got on sale!

12 thoughts on “The weird thing I did to feel like a grown-up

  1. So cute! I have tons of pajamas but I get too hot at night and so only do the bra and underwear or tank top and underwear thing. I’ve never thought about the fire and no clothes thing though. That would be terrible!

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one who can’t seem to be cool enough at night! That fire thought is scary though! Although you could have a robe somewhere that’s easily grabable in case of emergency evacuation, I suppose. Thanks for the comment!

  2. I alternate between an old tshirt and shorts/sweats and real pajamas. I like a pair of real pajamas. Though, most of them are from Old Navy! Oddly enough, most of them have a flannel print. I may need to purposefully buy another pair of pajamas that defy my defaults!

  3. That is so true, though. I am definitely in the PJ pants and t-shirt category. I just can’t justify spending money on something no one sees but you are right – it does seem much more adult and put together!

  4. Those pajamas are super cute! I love splurging on cute pajamas but haven’t in a while, so lately I’ve just been wearing t-shirts and shorts. I think it’s time for me to get something cute too!

Leave a Reply

