Seeking Blog Advice

This post is for all you bloggers out there! I’m still feeling very newish to blogging and am having some early struggles. I wish that I could blog all day. If I didn’t have a job, I’d probably sit for hours every single day thinking about and writing my own blog posts, reading and commenting on other blogs, finding new ones, reading blog tips. I love doing that. But here’s my dilemma and a confession: At my old job, the one I was at when I started this blog, I did a lot of blogging at work. I know, so bad. But in my defense, I still got all of my work done, and darn well if you ask me. But I had lots of extra time in the day, and I was just obsessed with bloggy land and stalked all that had to do with it.

The problem is now that I have a new job and just can’t work on my blog during daytime hours anymore, I’m struggling keeping up with it. I’m behind in my daily blog digest emails and don’t get to comment on others as much as I did in the beginning, let alone write as many posts as I wish I could. Then when I get home, I have so many things on my to-do list, from making dinner to doing laundry to cleaning up cat puke, doing my volunteer and freelance work, reading for book club and paying bills…you know, life. By the time the weekend is here, I am so tired from the week that I just zone out to the TV pretty much all weekend in between snuggles with the husband, other social commitments with friends or family or running errands. I just am having a really hard time finding time to give my blog, or maybe it’s the motivation to MAKE time for it. It’s really important to me, and I do NOT want to become one of those blogs that starts out strong then tapers off till posts happen a couple times a year and each of those posts start off with an apology for the time since the last post. The graveyard of blogs – I don’t want to end up there anytime soon.

I follow several bloggers, and small handful of some I really admire. They update about once a day, write great posts that I find engaging and interesting and clever and insightful. And I think they all have FT jobs too. HOW DO YOU DO IT? I want to know. What’s your secrets?

If I could cut a few hours of sleep out of my day and just blog till my heart’s content then, I totally would. But this girl without her 8-9 hours is a mess. Trust me, it’s bad. So how do I balance this new part of my life with my other life of being a wife, a fur mom, a working professional, and whatever other titles might define me? Help!

10 thoughts on “Seeking Blog Advice

  1. It is a hard thing to balance. I remember when I started getting into blogging, it seemed so overwhelming. You still don’t have a routine and trying to figure out what you’re doing. I have at least two hours from the time I get home each night until my husband gets home, that’s when I usually blog, or on my lunch break. Try starting with two posts a week, don’t make yourself feel bad if you can’t post as much as everyone else, it’s whatever you can do, you don’t want blogging to become a chore! 🙂 I know a lot of people set aside time on their day off or one night a week and blog then. You just need to find what works for you, don’t worry about what other people are doing, comparing your self to them is dangerous in the blogging world. If you have an hour one day to respond to comments, do it! If you can’t read blog posts for a few days, it’s ok! If you have time to write five days a week, great, if you don’t, it’s ok, nobody’s going to judge you! 🙂

  2. I keep a notebook with me all the time and whenever I come up with something I think would be fun or interesting to write about, I jot the idea down. That way, when I do have free time I can just type away and already have a topic set. I’ve found that helps a LOT.

  3. This is something I struggle with too. I’m not one to schedule posts, I’m more of the type of blogger who just blogs in the moment. If there is something that I want to blog about though and don’t have the time to write a full post I’ll jot a few notes down on my Notes section on my iPhone. One thing though I urge you to stay away from is just posting to post, stay true to yourself and don’t post something you are going to hate a week down the road!

  4. Pingback: My 2014 Resolutions: EFFORT | Notes from a Newlywed

  5. I think most people blog from work, like you used to do. Oh, guess what I used to do at The Forum? 🙂

    As you already know, the best way to get interaction is to comment on other blogs. I would just stick to 5 or 10 blogs and really follow, comment and share their stuff. It’s too hard to do more than that, at least for me. For posting, I think even if you do one post a week your blog will remain pretty active with visitors and comments. Lots of people post once or twice per week. If you can manage two or three or four, great, but try not to stress out over it. People would rather see one awesome post per week than multiple posts that aren’t as thoughtful.

  6. New follower!!! I am right there with you girl! I work between 10-12 hours a day. When I come home, I never have time to blog. I’m just so exhausted. It also means I don’t get to read others’ blogs as often as I’d like. I definitely don’t post every day and I have finally accepted that. I don’t want to be that person that cranks out a poorly written blog post or one that lacks anything interesting to say just so that I can say I blogged that day. I just blog when I can and sometimes that’s only twice a week. But I figure if my content is good, it’s okay. I use my weekends to write a few posts sometimes so that I have posts ready to go for thr week too. I wish I had more advice but I say, blog as often as you can. Content is more important than frequency. “Quality over quantity”. True followers won’t stop reading because you don’t post every day.

  7. I just discovered your blog (from a comment you left on another blog) and instantly became hooked with everything you have written about. I have spent the last few hours reading all of your blog posts and content 🙂 This post in particular really hit the nail on the head. I am a new blogger and struggle with this feeling daily. I guess we need to remember that we blog for fun, as a hobby and we need to enjoy it. No point in keeping up with this if it is like a chore. Your blog is for you, so just do what you can. We will all be here reading 🙂

    • Aww, you’re too sweet! I’m so glad you found me and like my posts enough to comment! Being a new blogger has revealed lots of insecurities in myself, but at the same time, it’s also helping me come out of my shell and build more confidence! It’s such a bizarre thing, but I love it. I eventually got over the hump (I think), though I still have self doubts sometimes like if what I’m writing matters or if anyone cares and what’s the point. But when I start thinking those things, I remind myself that when I’ve started to take it too seriously. Blogging should be fun! Thanks so much for your kind words. It really makes me feel reaffirmed:)

Leave a Reply

