My First Married Thanksgiving

Well, we made it through our first big holiday together as a married couple! It was a good day. We didn’t spend it with family since mine is so far away, and his is closer, but was still too far to make a one-day trip since I work tomorrow. We had what one of our friends called a “Friendsgiving!”

Some of Cal’s bandmates and friends came over, so I cooked for a bunch of boys. Which made me feel useful. I like hosting people and cooking for an army even if only a small handful come. We had turkey meatballs (because a real turkey was just too daunting), a ham, green bean casserole (made with my mom’s home-grown and canned green beans–you just can’t beat ’em), creamed corn, stuffing, my famous deviled eggs, rolls, and pumpkin cheesecake, which is my favorite Paula Deen recipe that I make every year, regardless where we are. And hot apple cider. Yum.

Even though it was a bunch of boys who I know don’t care about appearance, I still felt a little inadequate and insecure about our home. I just always had this vision that once I was married, I’d be in this nice house with nice stuff. And while we served the meal on our nice new plates and silverware from the wedding, we still sat at the family hand-me-down table from my grandma with chairs with nicks, broken backs and varnish coming off. The tablecloth was wrinkly, and the runner didn’t match. The small things like that sometimes make me feel like I’m not a proper wife. I know the important thing was that we spent it with good people over good food, but I long for the day when we can host a holiday in a nice big dining room with pretty chairs and matching table accessories, then sit in the family room with a fire going. That’s my dream.

I know it’s OK we don’t have that right now. We will some day. So for now, I am thankful we had friends to spend the day with, that we had a great meal, and have a roof over our heads in the first place. After we ate, the boys watched football and I dozed off in the recliner. Then realized I should be productive in the rest of my day and got up to do some writing, pack my lunch of leftovers for tomorrow, and call my mom.

What did you do for Thanksgiving?

3 thoughts on “My First Married Thanksgiving

  1. I’m jealous of the green beans! We used to have a garden when I was a kid and I took it for granted… I’d give anything for fresh stuff, now. I know how you feel about your home… I deal with that a lot… many of my friends are getting married and buying/building houses… it can be hard. But you’re right… the important part wasn’t the table but who sat around it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

