Friday Feelings and My Big Reveal

In a previous post, I hinted that I was happy about things yet to be revealed. Well folks, here’s my reveal … drumroll please … I have a new job, and I start on Monday! Originally, I was going to wait to post about it until I had officially started, but then I thought, you know what? I have feelings about it now, and it’s close enough. Plus, now I can compare my pre-first day thoughts to after I do start.

I’m going back to writing full time. Yes, I truly enjoyed my job in social media marketing and learned SO MUCH here, but I miss writing and editing. A lot. It’s part of the reason I started this blog! It’s what I’m comfortable doing and what I think I’m good at. It’s my comfort zone. My warm bubble of happiness. So going back to doing that in a new place with an awesome manager and a few friends already there, I think it will be just what I needed. One thing I’m most looking forward to is decorating my new desk. What will it look like? I can’t wait to find out. Oh, the small things.

This is how I feel about change.

This is how I feel about change.

As the day is getting closer, I’m getting the usual jitters. Change is hard. The unknown is scary. I’m 99.9% sure I’m going to LOVE my new job. But what if I don’t? What if I regret leaving where I am for it? What if I don’t do well at it and my new boss and co-workers hate me? What if the building catches on fire the day after I start, and they have to shut down the company, and then I’m out of a job. I’ll probably become homeless, obviously. You see, this is what I do when something new is coming. I overanalyze and start fearing the worst. It’s never as bad as it could be, so maybe that’s why I do it. By expecting the worst sometimes, you’ll never be disappointed. That’s kind of a bad attitude to have, and it’s something I have to try to consciously change. I’m envious of people who are happy about everything all the time, even new things and the unknown. How do they do it?!

How can you say no to this?!

How can you say no to this?!

I wanted to go out on a great note on my last day. But, I wasn’t watching the clock close enough this morning, and Little Girl was snuggling me all cute and stuff, so I spent far too much time petting her and playing with her before even getting out of bed. So, I had to hurry up and get ready, and really wanted to look nice and do my hair purrty, but that didn’t happen. Oh well, what’s new.

I tend to be late for a lot of things, especially in the morning. I am awful at getting out of bed most days. It’s one thing I am going to have to figure out how to change at my new job. Ugh.

On another note, it’s snowing here right now, and it’s actually really pretty, dusting the ground and floating down from the sky. I know it won’t last long. It’s the start of real winter here, and before we know it, it’s going to be treacherous. Every winter I question why I continue to live in the North Dakota tundra. But as much as the weather is a nuisance, I love this city. It’s the perfect size with plenty of things to do. It’s got a small town feel in a large city.

Wow, I’m really getting off track here, huh? Then again, it is Friday. Isn’t that what Fridays are for? I’m really looking forward to my weekend. I have to do laundry so I have nice clean clothes ready for my first week at the new job, and I’ll probably plan out every outfit for each day so I don’t have to think about it in the mornings. I’m going to finalize my Thanksgiving menu and start shopping for ingredients. Our mall is also having this event Sunday evening where you pay $5 to get in, but then each store has lots of sales, so we’ve gotta get some Christmas shopping started. Most years by this point, I have almost everything purchased and wrapped already, but the holidays really crept up on me this time. But then again, this is the busiest year I’ve ever had, and there’s lot of other things going on.

Our kitchen table is a complete disaster zone, piled high with our homebuying guides, bills, magazines and who knows what else, so I hope to get that under control. And while I’ll be going through bills, it seems a good time to set up a new financial system for our shared bills, which is something I’ve been meaning to do ever since we got married. At least all of these to-do’s will keep my mind off of worrying about the new job. Fingers crossed I love it as much as I think I will. And there isn’t a freak disaster that shuts the place down and makes me homeless.

8 thoughts on “Friday Feelings and My Big Reveal

  1. A little late on this but congrats on the new job! I too, have some work things in motion and I am over analyzing EVERYTHING. If I will like it, if I won’t, is it a mistake, etc. etc. I guess that is just the fear of the unknown talking. Usually any change is scary but as long as you are happy and doing something you love, it is all worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

