Taste of Tuesday: Asparagus Pesto Chicken

Isn’t it funny some of the things we hate as children but grow to love as adults? For me, two of those foods are asparagus and pesto. I wouldn’t touch either as a kid, for no reason really because I refused to even try it.

Then, one day it all changed. Well, two days technically. The first was in college when I was in the school cafeteria and I saw this tub of green goo. I had no clue what it was, but I had to have it. I slopped it on top of some noodles and gave it a try. It was amazing. That’s the day I discovered pesto.

Fast forward a few years later to the Harrah’s steakhouse in Las Vegas for a work dinner. My boss ordered some asparagus and passed it around the table. I took it just because it was in front of my face but wasn’t really sure about it. But then I tasted the most delicious vegetable my palate had ever encountered, and my life was changed.

Now, these are two of my absolute favorite things to eat. One day on Pinterest, I discovered a recipe that contained both of these glorious items, and didn’t hesitate to try it. IT WAS AMAZING. It’s now my favorite meal to make at home because it is so tasty and easy. Here it is:

pesto asparagus chicken


Chicken and Asparagus in Pesto Sauce

Ingredients
• 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to 1/4″ thickness (I’m kind of lazy and left them unpounded and it still tasted just as good)
• 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
• 1 pound thin asparagus (or 2lbs thick), trimmed and cut into 1″ pieces (I used the thin kind so it’d cook quicker and I could eat it quicker, and I doubled the amount so it was very asparagus-y)
• 1 cup heavy whipping cream
• 2 Tablespoons prepared pesto (I like the Bertolli kind in the small plastic tub, and I added far more pesto than this out of my love for it)

Instructions
• Cut chicken breasts in half crosswise to make 6 pieces (or in however many pieces you want. I just kind of chopped it up till I got bite-size chunks)
• Season evenly with salt & pepper
• In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat
• Add chicken and cook for 4-5 minutes per side, or until golden brown and fully cooked
• Remove chicken from skillet, set aside & keep warm
• Add asparagus to skillet and cook for 1-2 minutes, or until just tender (a little longer if you’re using thick asparagus)
• Add cream and cook for 3-4 minutes, or until reduced by half
• Stir in pesto
• Return chicken to skillet and cook for 3-4 minutes longer, or until heated through.
• Serve immediately with rice, pasta or couscous.
This is part of the Tasty Tuesday linkup with Blissfully Miller and Let’s Get Bananas.

3 thoughts on “Taste of Tuesday: Asparagus Pesto Chicken

  1. Pingback: Super easy pesto salmon with couscous, asparagus and garlic sour cream | HolyTastebuds !

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Pins EVER! | Notes from a Newlywed

Leave a Reply

