Finding My Style

My Catfeats shirt that I absolutely adore.

My Catfeats shirt that I absolutely adore.

You know how when you buy a new piece of clothing you become a little bit obsessed with it? You wear it the very next day after you buy it, and as much as you want to wear it every day after, you also don’t want people to think that’s all you own or that you’re a weirdo. I’ve had a few things I bought recently that I am still pretty obsessed with. Now, here’s the disclaimer: I am not a fashionista by any means. Fashion has never come easily to me. I wear what I like and what is comfy (usually), but I do have a little bit of a desire to look nicer sometimes. A few friends of mine are super cute and trendy, and I envy how easy it comes to them. When I want to look like that, I have to try hard.

One of the things I wanted to do as a married woman was try harder when it comes to style and fashion. It just didn’t seem wifely to wear my Hello Kitty and Spongebob T-shirts anymore. I had been hanging on to some clothes that I’ve owned literally since junior high. I rarely, if ever, wear them anymore, but sometimes I can have hoarder tendencies and keep things out of sentimental value. But then one day maybe a month or two ago, I just decided to overhaul my closet and dressers and get rid of the things I have that are stained, don’t fit anymore, or that I just simply don’t wear for whatever reason.

My most recent fave find at Target.

My most recent fave find at Target.

It felt soo good. I donated about three bags worth of clothing, which felt good in itself, but I also felt proud that I tackled it. I felt more confident about the items left that I like more and wear often, and treated myself to some shopping for a few replacement items like new tank tops and shirts that seem to better fit my style and my life right now.

On that shopping trip when I was browsing at JCPenney, I started out in the juniors section because, well, that’s where I shopped for about 10 years or more and was simply pure habit. I was specifically looking for some basic black and white solid tees that I could pair with cute jewelry and scarves. I wasn’t having much luck, so I just kept wandering around till I found things that I liked and needed. After awhile, I finally looked up and realized I had circled the store and was in the middle of what I used to think of as the “old lady” section. But, know what? I loved that clothing and picked up a few items there without even realizing it.

That was the moment I realized I had grown up (fashion wise, anyway). I was no longer the teenager trying to fit in by shopping at Wet Seal. I don’t like anything that store sells anymore, but 16-year-old me loved it. I had graduated from junior’s to women’s and was completely happy with it.

These days, nearly all my clothing is from Express or Target, and I recently discovered a love for New York & Company. Wet Seal is completely behind me, and my old fashion is now sitting in the thrift store, and that makes me really happy.

Kitty face flats

Kitty face flats

One thing that I don’t think I’ll ever give up is what my friend calls “cat couture.” Yes, I am a crazy cat lady, and I love to show it. I have cat calendars, photos and knicknacks all over my desk at work and at home. I love my cat clothing too. Well, to be fair, all animals, because I also got the cutest flamingo print shirt at a local boutique. But my kitty face flats and flowy cat print shirt I just can’t get enough of. By the way, Catfeats is the greatest website ever for cat enthusiasts. I love everything they have. I’m like a kid in a candy store on that site. I also love the Animal Rescue Site because they have great gift ideas, and every time you purchase, you help animals!

Well, I got a bit sidetracked there, but the point is that in my new life as a wife, I’ve embraced my style, whatever it is right now. I don’t hang on to old items that no longer represent me, and I try to dress nicer because when we look good, we feel good. And that is good.

5 thoughts on “Finding My Style

  1. Pingback: 2013: What a Year! | Notes from a Newlywed

  2. Pingback: My 2014 Resolutions: EFFORT | Notes from a Newlywed

Leave a Reply

