Welcome!

I’m so excited for my very first blog post! It only seemed fitting that my first post should be about this whole blog thing and what brought me to start one.

First of all, I’m a newlywed. I was married in June 2013 (see more about my wedding here), and throughout my engagement and now about 5 months of being married, one day it just suddenly hit me that I’ve leaned a lot throughout this whole process. I think I’ve grown more in the past year than I ever have … so far anyway.

If I could go back in time, I would do several things very differently. I made some mistakes along the way, but I took so much away from it all. I could probably write an entire book about the wedding planning process with many, many lists and tips. So, throughout this blog, I will share some of the lessons I’ve learned. Some are big, like stick to the budget and communicate better; some are small, like allow extra time for photographs of just you as a couple, and do not use a cinnamon Wisp toothbrush right before you walk down the aisle, because it WILL turn your mouth an awful shade of red.

But, we made it, and in the end, I’m incredibly happy that I married the man I love. That was the most important thing. But now that I’m a few months into being married, oh boy, the learning just keeps coming.

The first thing to note is that my husband and I dated for 8 years before we were married. Eight! And while I thought that was a long time, and I thought that I knew everything about him and about us, turns out I didn’t. I thought right off the bat I’d be an awesome wife. I also thought while some things may change, for the most part, everything would feel completely the same as before. Wrong again.

Now, as husband and wife, we have to communicate better and more, and suddenly everything is so important! We’re not just dating anymore; we’re locked into this thing for life! And I want to do it all right, but part of that is accepting that at times, I’ll screw up, and so will he, but along the way, we will learn a ton, pick ourselves up and keep on keepin’ on.

So this is the crazy journey of my new life as a wife. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

